Skip to content ↓

Curwen Primary School


Local Advisory Board

North Beckton Primary School has an active local advisory board. We act as a critical support to the school, providing strategic governance to ensure that all children receive the best possible education. The LAB meets twice a term and delegates its business to a range of committees, where appropriate.

What do we do?

The LAB has an important part to play in raising school standards through its three key roles:

  • setting strategic direction
  • ensuring accountability
  • monitoring and evaluating school performance

We have responsibility, together with the leadership team, for agreeing the policies for the general running of the school. Our role is crucial:

  • We fulfil statutory duties to ensure that the school is a safe, healthy and an inclusive environment
  • We ensure the school finances are in order by monitoring the school's budget on a regular basis
  • We provide support and challenge to the leadership team of the school on all issues that affect the learning and welfare of our pupils

The LAB is drawn from the staff of the school, the Local Education Authority, parents and the wider community that the school serves.

Who we are: 

Name Position
Alison Helm Head Teacher
Swasthi Mahabeer Chair
Karinna Williams Vice Chair/Co-opted Member
Natalija Girzade Staff Governor
Jackie Withnall Co-opted Member
Hassan Mahmood Board Appointed
Leena Choi Parent Governor
Twinkle Kumar Parent Governor
Suus-Anna Karskamp-Eve Co-opted Member

North Beckton Governing Board Attendance 2018/19

Governor Name 

No. of Meetings


Ms Cameron Ratchford 4/5
Ms Choi 3/5
Ms Girzade 5/5
Ms Harskamp-Eve 5/5
Ms Helm 5/5
Ms Jayakumar 4/5
Ms Spencer 3/5
Ms Withnall 5/5
Ms El-Damanawi 4/5